Narcissism

If I have to be really honest, I would consider myself to be a huge narcissist. I clearly love myself above all others. I am pretty selfish. I hardly care what other people say, I don’t pay attention to their say. I am obsessed with everything and everyone who can keep me happy.

But why would I repeatedly take actions that suck the joy out of my so-called- self-loved life?

Today, I came very close to sending a text to a lost friend about why I ended our friendship.

The text I composed (in my head) was this:

I never said this to you and I know I probably shouldn't say it now that it has been
such a while but I never told you why we are not friends anymore.
It wasn't that I didn't want to be friends with you. It was more of I didn't want you to be
friends with someone like me.
Does that make sense?

I know it would have been extremely foolish on my part to send this because we haven’t been friends in two years. But I thought I should let this out somehow.

How have I made the same mistake(?) /decision over the course of last 5 years. But I have.

I have distanced myself from every single person that ones brought joy in my life.

It was a decision I made on my own. being the narcissist that I am, I decided I should be the one making sure I also bring pain to my own self as I work hard to bring joy.

4 thoughts on “Narcissism

  1. Very interesting post, indeed. Well, you said we could burst your bubble so here’s my chance! I don’t think you are a narcissist in the truest sense of the word and this is why. I have a narcissist in my family; a full-blown, unapologetic, everyone else can go to hell, narcissist. This narcissist would never say what you have said; in other words, you are showing some compassion for others in the hope they won’t have to be exposed to your, ‘narcissistic tendencies’. A true narcissist wouldn’t even comprehend this; in addition, they would not be so quick to actually show some (*eek!*) empathy for another because they truly are not capable of such a thing. It does not exist whatsoever in their repertoire of emotions. So, that’s my two cents and I’ll leave it at that! 😉 Cher

    Liked by 1 person

  2. People often wonder how sociopaths obtain positions at the top of corporate ladders, etc. The answer is that they know precisely the “right” thing to say m, when to say it, and to whom to say it to. They do not care about stepping on another person’s toes to get there. Their charm is disingenuous. Often mistaken for a narrcisst and yet the two are mutually exclusive. Should I shut up now? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Burst my bubble!

