Kismet Kholo

If there’s one desi phrase that ticks all the wrong notes with me is when someone tries to bless me with their prayer for me having my “kismet opened”.

It’s a euphemism for getting married or rather finding a guy to get married to.

Why would you say this prayer annoys me? Well for one, the plain wordings of it.

HOW is it that my “kismet” will be opened the moment I say ‘I do’? Is there nothing else that I, a girl, can do or achieve on my own that would eventually result in me making getting all that I ever desire or would it only happen if I sign a Nikah Nama.

And why is it that only MY kismet will ‘open’ and not the dudes’? Err his never gets opened? Or is every guy just born with so much luck in the world that he needs a girl to share it with?

And it’s not just “kismet kholo” there’s a loooooooooooong list of euphemistic prayers that just make me want to kill myself. Another top of the list is “Naseeb acha karay”

ARRGHHHHH… everyone I knew prayed so much about me getting my NASEEB that I eventually ended up with a job at a company with that namesake.

Do they forget that it was actually Holy Prophet’s (saw) kismet that was reversed when HE married Mother Khadija. So I think I would flare less if they would instead pray that I OPEN someone’s kismet.

Have faith in us girls, come on!

Look at what a girl made a lunatic in love do: Shah Jahan had Taj Mahal made for his beloved. Too much ranting. Now awe at this love. The love that is extinct.

IMG_20150816_131829
The Taj Mahal

 

One thought on “Kismet Kholo

  1. I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your information. This
    great article has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your site and keep checking for new details about
    once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed as
    well.

    Like

Burst my bubble!

