Odesk: Fool me Once Shame on you, Fool me Twice, Shame on ME!

So, I was watching In Time last night, and all I kept thinking in my head: If J.T wasn’t in this movie, I would’ve shut it off in the first 5 minutes. The movie had absolutely nothing to offer except this oft-repeated line:

Is it stealing if it’s already stolen?

Umm, lemme think? Is it rape if the victim isn’t a virgin? Is it murder if the victim had Aids? Yeah.. makes you think, doesn’t it?

Uhneways, so disappointed and completely mad at myself for having wasted precious 1.45 hours of my day, which I could’ve dedicated earning money to instead, I turned to my fav pasttime: reading blogs. And I stumbled upon this amazingly written rant written by an equally amazing paki mom about how the world works, in reality.

Just like In Time’s theme, Odesk (the home of multi-millionaires) leeches off from the poor to feed the rich. Any sane writer will agree: to write an article that is ” Copyscape passed with No Plagarism as all articles must be SEO friendly content” you need at least 2-3 hours. And since time is money, to convert it; that comes out to be around $15-20 per hour.

(The above is an excerpt from an original job posting: morons can’t even spell plagiarism correctly!)

True to their word, Odesk is trying to change how the rest of the World works. Rest of the World respects labor; Odesk rapes it.

And the above is just one example. There are plenty more. If I had TIME on my hands, I would’ve made more of these rage comics, but I’ll leave that to the Sarri-alists; they do an awesome job. But that’s what I DON’T HAVE. (awesome job or time? Hmmmm)

And I am sure others around me are thinking: bitch ain’t got no time, so why write the  long rant?

BECAUSE YOU NEED TO KNOW. These MORONS are ripping you off.

and by YOU I mean us, freelancers. If  WE stop succumbing to their tiny-minuscule demands, there’s a preeety good chance, they are going to pay you your worth. Yes yes, beggars are not choosers, but seriously, you’re better off.

I know there are plenty of you out there, wondering, what does SHE know? If we refuse their demands, a Bangladeshi, or an Indian is sure to take up that spot. But my plea is to ALL those workers who are working at SUCH low rates:

KNOW YOUR WORTH.

They are stealing off off you, and it’s time we took a stand; all of us together.

7 thoughts on “Odesk: Fool me Once Shame on you, Fool me Twice, Shame on ME!

  1. Oohhhh thanks for the pingback. I wanted to add pics but the stupid PC at work doesn’t have a snipping tool. Great job!
    P.S am looking for someone with common sense and good English to work with me full-time from my office un Islamabad between 12 pm to 9 pm. Female of course. Interns welcome. Know anyone?

    Like

        1. I’ll definitely ask around, and ask them to get in touch with you.

          P.S; not to sound like a creep, but I got your e-mail id from wordpress so I’m going to forward it to potential candidates (with the aforementioned job details ), if that’s ok with you?

          Like

Burst my bubble!

